Featured image

20th-21st September 2012, High level dialogue meeting



Aarhus. September 20th-21st 2012.

This meeting brought together rectors of Edinburgh and Aarhus University together with the European Commission, and several other organizations such as LERU, VITAE and ORPHEUS. The meeting agreed that although there are differences between Scandinavian and UK PhD programmes, the intended outcomes were similar: that PhD graduates should be trained researchers at the highest level, and that PhD training should provide the competencies needed for employment either within or outside of academia.

Meeting communique: see http://www.au.dk/fileadmin/www.au.dk/Internationalt_Center/Communique_High_Level_Dialogue.pdf


Dorothy Kelly, Executive Board Chair, The Coimbra Group; David Gani, Governor, The Career Development Organisation and founding member of the Scottish Researcher Careers Coordination Forum; Alexandra Bitusikova, Vice-Rector for Research, Matej Bel University in Banska Bystrica, Slovakia; Peter van der Hijden, DG Research and Innovation, European Commission; Zdravko Lackovic, President, ORPHEUS; Vaclav Hampl, Rector, Charles University; Slobodan Radičev, President EURO-DOC; David Bogle, Headof University College London’s Graduate School and chair of LERU’s Doctoral Studies Community; Katrien Maes, Chief Policy Officer, LERU; Janet Metcalfe, Chair and HEAD of VITAE; Timothy O’Shea, Principal and Vice-Chancellor, University of Edinburgh; Lauritz B. Holm-Nielsen, Rector, Aarhus University and Vice-Chair, EUA; Lise Wogensen Bach, Vice-Dean, Aarhus University; Johnny Laursen, Head of the Graduate School of Arts, Aarhus University; Mary Bownes, Senior Vice Principal External Engagement, University of Edinburgh; Jeremy Bradshaw, Dean of Postgraduate Taught & International, University of Edinburgh. Observers: Jon Turner, Director, Institute for Academic Development, University of Edinburgh; Michael Mulvany, Vice President at Orpheus and professor, Aarhus University; Kristian Thorn, Deputy University Director, AU Research and Talent, Aarhus University; Kirsten Wisborg, Head of Talent Unit, Health, AU Research and Talent at Health, Aarhus University; Jeppe Dørup Olesen, Head of Central Talent Unit, AU Research and Talent, Aarhus University.