Featured image

Professor Dr. Michael John Mulvany CV



Professor Dr. Michael John Mulvany

Michael John Mulvany

Born: 31 January 1941, Buxton, England. British by birth, Danish citizenship since April 1985.

Current title: Professor emeritus, Department of Biomedicine Aarhus University, Aarhus, Denmark. mm@farm.au.dk




1962 Honours degree in Mathematics and Engineering Science (1st class), Oxford University, Oxford, UK.
1978 Ph.D. in Biophysics, University of Aarhus.
1983 Doctor of Medical Sciences (DMSc.) in Biophysics, University of Aarhus.

1969-2011 Assistant/Associate Professor/Professor, Dept. Biomedicine, Aarhus University, DK.
1974-76 Research Associate, Dept. Physiology, University of Vermont, Vermont, USA.
2011- Professor Emeritus, Dept. Biomedicine, Aarhus University

Sabbaticals etc.
1971 Visiting researcher, Department of Physiology, University College London, London, UK (2 months).
1974-76 Research Associate, Department of Physiology and Biophysics, University of Vermont, Vermont, USA (17 months).
1987 Visiting researcher, Baker Medical Research Institute, Melbourne, Australia (2 months).
1989 Research stipendium, Aarhus University (12 months).

Scientific work
Structure and function of small arteries and their role in the development of high blood presure (hypertension). Major work: (a) Structure and function of small arteries. (b) Investigation of abnormal structure of small arteries in hypertension; (c) Drug treatments which can normalize the abnormal structure.

Total Medline publications 259 (49 since 2003). In addition ca. 60 book chapters, and supplements. H-index 60. See selection: http://pure.au.dk/portal/da/mjm@biomed.au.dk

Experience with doctoral training
2003-2010 Head, Aarhus Graduate School of Health Sciences
2011-2013 Consultant, Aarhus Graduate School of Health Sciences
2005-2012 Representative for Faculty of Health Sciences, Aarhus University in Organization for PhD education for PhD education in biomedicine and health sciences in the European system (ORPHEUS).
2010-2014 Vice-president ORPHEUS.
2013- Chairman, ORPHEUS Labelling Board

Selected assignments
2000-2007 Chairman, Danish Society of Pharmacology and Toxicology
2006-2012 Member of EPHAR executive council
2001-2010 Secretary-General World Congress of Basic and Clinical Pharmacology 2010 (IUPHAR2010), Copenhagen

1986 ICI-award, Danish Society of Hypertension.
1986 Fourth Sir George Pickering Memorial Lecture, British Society of Hypertension.
1986- Honorary member of the British Hypertension Society.
1993 Folkow-award, European Society of Hypertension.
1995 Heymans Memorial Lecture, Belgian Physiological and Pharmacological Society.
1997 Folkow lecture, Symposium on Mechanisms of Vasodilatation.
1998 Novo Nordisk prize (together with Prof. Chr. Aalkjaer)
2002 Malphigi Award, European Society of Microcirculation
2004 Anglo-Nordic lecture, British Pharmacological Society
2006 Danish Lecture, XVth World Congress of Pharmacology, Beijing

Editorial work
1984- Associate Editor, Clin. Sci. (1984-89), Eur. J. Clin. Invest. (199096), Acta Physiol. Scand. (1992-).
1983- Editorial Boards: Circ. Res. 1983-89; Hypertension, 1988-93, 2005-2011; J. Hypertens. 1990-93; Blood Vessels, 1986-92; Clin. Exp. Pharmacol. Physiol., 1990-; Blood Pressure, 1992-; J. Cardiovasc. Risk, 1993-; High Blood Pressure Cardiovasc. Prevention, 1993-.
1992-2002 Main Editor, J Vasc Res.
2003-2005 Editor, Cardiovascular Section, Acta Physiol Scand

Scientific society committees
1985-91 Member of Steering Committee for Danish Society of Hypertension.
1990-95 Member of Steering Committee for Danish Biomembrane Research Centre.
1992-98 Member of Steering Committee for Aarhus Cardiovascular Research Centre.
1993-96 Member of Scientific Committee for European Society of Cardiology.
1994- Advisory Board of the German Institute for High Blood Pressure Research.
1997-99 Secretary, European Council for Blood Pressure and Cardiovascular Research.
1996-2004 Member of Steering Committee for Scandinavian Physiological Society.
1997-2003 Deputy Chairman, Danish Society of Hypertension
1998-2000 Member of Steering Committee for Danish Society for Pharmacology and Toxicology
2000- Chairman, Danish Society for Pharmacology and Toxicology
2002- Advisory Board European Council for Cardiovascular Research

Other assignments
1991- Annual contributor to Danish Pharmacopoeia (l?gemiddelkataloget)
1992- Committee for Bagermester August H. Jensen og Hustrus Legat
1995-2004 Member Steering Committee, Department of Pharmacology.
1996-2005 Faculty representative in Rector’s library committee.
1996- Faculty representative in Steering Committee for Centre for Clinical Pharmacology.
1997-99 Chairman of Faculty Buildings Committee for new Medical Library and Postgraduate Training Centre.
1997-2004 Deputy chairman, Department of Pharmacology
1999- Chairman, Faculty Medical Library and Postgraduate Training Centre.
2002 Secretary General, XVIth World Congress of Basic and Clinical Pharmacology, Copenhagen, 2010
2003- Member of Steering Committee Danish Academy of Cardiovascular Research
2005- Member of Steering Committee In vivo Pharmacology Research School

Research training and supervision
1977- Supervisor for 15 Ph.D. students, and 25 research students.
1985-2010 Lecturer PhD-courses in Health Sciences Research, Pharmacology, Medical English
1985- External examiner for PhD-theses in The Netherlands, Sweden, UK, India, Denmark (Copenhagen and Odense)
1993-99 Chairman, Faculty Internationalization Committee for Research Training.
1994-2002 Member of Faculty Postgraduate Research Training Committee.



He became ORPHEUS Executive Committee member February 9, 2007.    By decision of Zagreb City Office for General Administration January 26, 2012, the mandate of Michael John Mulvany, as legal representative of ORPHEUS, will finish in 2014. Decision was accepted by General Assembly, Bergen 2012.


At the  closing ceremony at Lausanne 2014 Conference  ORPHEUS President Professor Zdravko Lackovic especially thanked to Vice President Michael J. Mulvany  and giving him special  diploma. This was accompanied by applause of the audience.

Professor Lackovic presenting diploma to ORPHEUS Vice President Professor Mulvany